Donald F. Steiner Award

The Donald F. Steiner Award for Outstanding Achievement in Diabetes Research was established in 2006 to honor an investigator carrying out research in the field of diabetes. The award is named for Donald F. Steiner, M.D., the A.N. Pritzker Distinguished Service Professor, The University of Chicago, a pioneering diabetes investigator and discoverer of proinsulin. This discovery provided new insight into the production of insulin as well as other hormones and neuropeptides and also established a route for the production of human insulin for treating patients with diabetes. This is an international award and the awardee is selected by a committee chaired by Dr. Louis H. Philipson and including Professor Steiner.

The Donald F. Steiner Awardees:

Kevan C. Herold, M.D.
Departments of Immunobiology and Medicine, Yale University

Lori Sussel, Ph.D.
Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes, University of Colorado Denver

John Buse, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Medicine, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Åke Lernmark, Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Sciences, Lund University/CRC, Malmö

Sian Ellard, Ph.D.
Department of Molecular Genetics, University of Exeter Medical School

Christopher Newgard, Ph.D.
Sarah Stedman Nutrition & Metabolism Center, Duke University School of Medicine

Domenico Accili, M.D.
Department of Medicine, Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons

Steven E. Shoelson, M.D., Ph.D.
Joslin DIabetes Center, Harvard Medical School

Michael S. German, M.D.
Department of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco

Susumu Seino, M.D., D.M.Sci.
Department of Physiology and Molecular Medicine, and Internal Medicine, Kobe University Graduate School of Medicine

Roger D.Cone, Ph.D.
Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Vanderbilt University

George Eisenbarth, M.D., Ph.D.
Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes, University of Colorado

Daniel J. Drucker, M.D.
Banting and Best Diabetes Centre, University of Toronto

Andrew Hattersley, M.D.
Peninsula Medical School, Universities of Exeter & Plymouth